RESULT: New MP for the Devizes constituency

RESULT: New MP for the Devizes constituency

Published at 4:48am 13th December 2019. (Updated at 7:14am 13th December 2019)

2 minute read

The votes have been counted for the area that represents much of Salisbury Plain.

The constituency remains in Conservative control, as Danny Kruger wins the race to be the Member of Parliament for Devizes.

The seat came up for grabs after previous Tory MP Claire Perry decided not to put herself forward for re-election.

Devizes Danny Kruger General Election December 2019
Danny Kruger gives his victory speech

Turnout in the constituency was 69.81%.


  • Danny Kruger (Conservative) - 32,150
  • Emma Dawnay (Green) - 2,809
  • Rachael Schneider (Labour) - 7,838
  • Jo Waltham (Liberal Democrats) - 8,157
Devizes Votes Cast 2019
The voting ended up as above

Those ballots mean the Conservatives have a majority of 23,993 votes - an increase on the last election of around 2,500 votes.

Devizes Candidates Declaration December 2019
The Devizes candidates and agents hear the results from the returning officer at the count in Salisbury


The new MP for the constituency has told Spire FM how he feels about the result:

Devizes Change on 2017
Big gains for the Lib Dems in Devizes, with a drop for Labour

Here's the voting breakdown for the constituency: 

Devizes Vote Share
Email Icon

Sign up for exclusive news, competitions and offers.
Proper Local News updates from Spire FM

© Copyright 2020 Spire FM, A UKRD group company