Decision day as Wiltshire and Hampshire go to the polls

Decision day as Wiltshire and Hampshire go to the polls

Published by Henrietta Creasey at 5:35am 12th December 2019. (Updated at 11:08am 12th December 2019)

3 minute read

Who will you be voting for today?

Polls have opened in the General Election and hundreds of thousands of people will be casting their vote.

Polling stations open from 7am until 10pm and you can find your nearest one  here.

You do not need your poll card to vote although it will help the staff at the polling station if you bring it with you.

In the SALISBURY CONSTITUENCY 74,560 people are eligible to vote and there are 60 polling stations.

The candidates for the Salisbury seat are:

  • Victoria Charleston - Liberal Democrats
  • Tom Corbin - Labour
  • John Glen - Conservatives
  • Rick Page - Green Party
  • King Arthur Pendragon - Independent

After the polls close ballot boxes will be taken to Five Rivers Health and Wellbeing Centre where the count will take place.

The result is expected in the early hours of tomorrow morning (Friday 13th December).

Polling card Hen pg

Meanwhile in the DEVIZES CONSTITUENCY, which covers areas like Tidworth, Bulford and Ludgershall, these are the names on the ballot paper:

  • Emma Dawnay - Green Party
  • Danny Kruger - Conservatives
  • Rachael Schneider - Labour
  • Jo Waltham - Liberal Democrats

Four candidates are vying for the SOUTH WEST WILTSHIRE seat which covers areas like Tisbury, Fovant and Mere.

  • Andrew Murrison - Conservatives
  • Ellen Nicholson - Liberal Democrats
  • Julie Phillips - Green Party
  • Emily Pomroy-Smith - Labour

In the NEW FOREST WEST CONSTITUENCY, which covers Fordingbridge, Whitsbury, Rockbourne, Godshill, Hale, Woodgreen and Martin, these are the names which will appear on your ballot paper:

  • Nicholas Bubb - Green Party
  • Jack Davies - Liberal Democrats
  • Jo Graham - Labour
  • Desmond Swayne - Conservatives
Polling Station

In the NEW FOREST EAST CONSTITUENCY which covers Bramshaw.

  • Julie Hope - Labour
  • Bob Johnston - Liberal Democrats
  • Nicola Jolly - Green Party
  • Andrew Knight - Animal Welfare Party: People, Animals, Environment
  • Julian Lewis - Conservatives

The candidates for the NORTH WEST HAMPSHIRE CONSTITUENCY which covers villages like Grateley, Thruxton, Monxton and Shipton Bellinger are as follows:

  • Liz Bell - Labour
  • Luigi Gregori - Liberal Democrats
  • Kit Malthouse - Conservatives
  • Lance Mitchell - Green Party

In the ROMSEY AND SOUTHAMPTON NORTH seat, which covers places like West Wellow, the following candidates are standing:

  • Geoff Bentley - UKIP
  • Craig Fletcher - Liberal Democrats
  • Caroline Nokes - Conservatives
  • Claire Ransom - Labour

In the NORTH DORSET seat which covers Sixpenny Handley and Alderholt four candidates are standing: 

  • David Chadwick - Liberal Democrats
  • Simon Hoare - Conservatives
  • Ken Huggins - Green Party
  • Pat Osborne - Labour Party
Email Icon

Sign up for exclusive news, competitions and offers.
Proper Local News updates from Spire FM

© Copyright 2020 Spire FM, A UKRD group company